Tillman County Chronicles

Tillman County Historical Society Column

by Joe Wynn

March 10, 2009

1907 Map Showed Many County Towns

The area that is now Tillman County was settled almost overnight on August 6, 1901, when most area lands were opened through land lottery. The Big Pasture in the eastern part of present-day Tillman County would open to settlement in 1906.

Farmers came to work the land. Merchants and tradesmen came to serve the new population.

Throughout the area, communities and towns sprang up in the early years to host stores, businesses, schools and churches to serve the area residents. Each community had hopes for growth and prosperity.

It took a post office designation, though, to really put any town on the map. Early post offices were often operated out of homes or stores.

At statehood on November 16, 1907, Tillman County was created from part of Comanche County. The 1907 map showed more than 18 towns or communities in the new Tillman County. Today, some of the towns remain while others are lost to history.

The towns in 1907, their general location, and post office history are as follows.

Chadwick. Located one mile north of present-day Tipton, the Chadwick Post Office opened on March 25, 1902, and operated until August 31, 1906.

Davidson. The town was originally called Olds. The Olds post office was established May 21, 1902, and changed to Davidson on June 20, 1903. Robert A. Deupree was the first postmaster.

Diltston. Location was five miles south of Frederick. A post office operated there from February 15, 1903, to July 30, 1904. It was named for John M. Dilts, the postmaster.

Eschita (later Grandfield). The town was originally called Eschita, named for Eschita, Comanche medicine man. The Eschita Post Office was commissioned to service on October 31, 1907. The post office name was changed to Grandfield on January 21, 1909. The new name honored Dr. Charles P. Grandfield, assistant postmaster general under President William H. Taft.

Frederick. Originally Gosnell, the Gosnell post office was established November 5, 1901, with Sanford N. Gosnell as postmaster. The name was changed to

Continued Next Page

Continued From Previous Page

Frederick on September 3, 1902, named for Frederick VanBlarcom, son of railroad developer J.C. VanBlarcom of St. Louis, Missouri.

Grizzle. This town was located four miles southwest of Hollister. A post office operated from May 17, 1902, until July 30, 1904. Postmaster was Millard F. Grizzle.

Hurst. The Hurst Community was located ten miles southwest of Frederick. A post office was located there from July 14, 1903, until July 30, 1904. Postmaster was Dillard Winningham.

Isadore. Located three miles northeast of Hollister, Isadore's post office was commissioned to service on October 25, 1907, and operated until December 15, 1912. Alfred B. Seay was postmaster.

Jarrell. Located eight miles northeast of Frederick. The Jarrell Post Office operated from May 22, 1903, until May 14, 1906. Postmaster was Joseph Jarrell.

Kinnick. The Kinnick community was located five miles northwest of Frederick. A post office was located there from December 2, 1902, until May 14, 1906. It was named for E.B. Kinnick, postmaster.

Manitou. The Manitou Post Office was established on January 29, 1902. Orlando E. Corder was postmaster. The name "Manitou" is an Algonquian word for God or guardian spirit.

Mirage. This community was located three miles south of present-day Tipton. A post office operated there from December 2, 1902, until September 30, 1905, with George B. Reilly as postmaster.

Nelms. The Nelms community was six miles northwest of Chattanooga. Its post office operated from November 7, 1901, until October 15, 1908. It was named for Clark C. Nelms, postmaster.

Pearson. Pearson was located north of Davidson and had a post office from December 5, 1901, until October 15, 1904. It was named for postmaster James E. Pearson.

Quanah. Location was 10 miles west of Grandfield. It was named for Comanche Chief Quanah Parker. A post office was established on October 25, 1907, with William A. Fuqua as postmaster. It was closed on July 31, 1911.

Sanford. This community was located six miles east of Davidson and was named for Sanford N. Gosnell, Frederick's first postmaster. Its post office was established on July 5, 1902, with Milam L. Emanhiser as postmaster. The post office was closed on July 29, 1904.

Schofield. The community was located 10 miles east of Manitou and had a post office from January 11, 1902, until January 31, 1906. It was named for its postmaster Robert J. Schofield.

Tesca. The Tesca Community was located nine miles west of Frederick, and operated a post office from April 3, 1902, through January 1908, with Albert H. Pritchard as first postmaster. Tesca Baptist Church operated in the Tesca Community until the 1960s when it was moved to Frederick.

In 1907, several current Tillman County communities were absent from the map because they had not yet come into

Continued Next Page

Continued From Previous Page

existence. They include:

Hollister. The Hollister Post Office was commissioned into service on February 1, 1909, with Arthur O. Holliday as postmaster.

Loveland. The name "Loveland" was coined by E.T. Duncan, a local merchant. The Loveland post office was commissioned to service on October 23, 1908, with Thomas R. McCracken as its first postmaster.

Tipton. Tipton's post office was established on September 18, 1909. The town was named for John T. Tipton, conductor on the Kansas City, Mexico and Orient Railway.